About YardRisk

YardRisk Insurance Limited is an initiative by Yard Investment Holdings, in conjunction with insurance experts and is licensed as a Short-term and an authorised Cell Captive Insurer.

Our Mission Statement

To be a flexible, recognized, dynamic and sustainable participant in the cell captive insurance market that is compliant at all times and has a forward looking view that allows the company to manage all possible scenarios.

Our Vision

To develop a successful track record and be recognised as a valuable market participant and build up capital for security and growth.


YardRisk Insurance Limited is a provider of cell captive insurance. It provides infrastructure and protection to cell owners of a traditional insurance company without having to set up an insurance company. Yard Risk Insurance Limited is licensed for all lines of business traditional products and more innovative products such as scratch and dent and warranty products excluding aviation.


YardRisk Insurance Limited is 100% black owned and managed for South African black economic empowerment (BEE) purposes. By virtue of its 100% black ownership, YardRisk Insurance Limited is a Level 1 BEE contributor in terms of relevant BEE codes. It will continuously embed in its business and operations the BEE principles relating to human resource development, procurement, management and other elements.

YardRisk Insurance Limited subscribes to the values and principles which underpin the various black economic empowerment (BEE) laws and sector codes in South Africa. To this end, the principles of the financial services sector BEE charter which was agreed to by all the participants in the financial services sector.

The Shareholder

YardRisk Insurance Limited is owned by Yard Holdings, which is a South African based private equity focused investment house.

The Board

The following individuals form the YardRisk Insurance Limited Board:

Mr Mahomed Gani

Non-Executive Chairman

Mrs Fahdia Bhayat

Non-Executive Director

Mr Jonathan Bagg

Non-Executive Director

Mr Badian Maasdorp

Non-Executive Director

Ms Ayanda Sisulu-Dunstan

Non-Executive Director

Mr Farad Kajee

Chief Executive Officer